White Ribbon in the Australia Day 2017 Honours List

Congratulations to the following White Ribbon Ambassadors recognised in the 2017 Australian Day Honours for their outstanding contribution to Australian society.

White Ribbon acknowledges the recognition through these awards of the significant contribution these White Ribbon Ambassadors have made to enrich our community across a broad range of professional, public and community service sectors.

Their dedication and commitment has built and strengthened the White Ribbon social change movement through the engagement and support of men are active advocates for changing the social norms, attitudes and behaviours that are at the root of men’s violence against women. We particularly acknowledge the outstanding leadership of Andrew O’Keefe. As part of the founding Board and inaugural chair of White Ribbon, Andrew  has provided dedicated and inspirational leadership vital to establishing the solid foundations of this now strong movement for positive social change. He continues to inspire and engage to further the vital work engaging men, working alongside women, to prevent men’s violence against women and drive towards a gender equal Australia.

Australia Day 2017 Honours List

Order of Australia:

  • Mr Andrew Patrick O’Keefe
  • Mr Kenneth Douglas Lay APM
  • Mr David Ingle Thodey
  • Dr. Martin Parkinson

List of Public Service Medal Recipients:

  • Superintendent Mark Andrew Wright
  • Detective Senior Sergeant Troy Derek Thomson
  • Senior Sergeant Danny Hilton Russell

Distinguished and Conspicuous:

  • Rear Admiral Trevor Norman Jones AO CSC RAN (Retd)

Young Citizen of the Year (Fairfield)

  • Fadi Aluboodi

Young Citizen of the Year (City Charles Sturt)

  • Arman Abrahimzadeh

Community Contribution Award (Hills)

  •     Superintendent Robert Critchlow

Subscribe to our newsletter