Prevent men’s violence against women

White Ribbon Australia Board

The White Ribbon Australia Board and its members are responsible for meeting all obligations as company directors as defined under the Australian Companies Act. The Board is responsible for governance, strategic direction and overall management of the organisation, and for delivering and monitoring performance in accordance with the organisation’s goals and objectives.


Board Profiles

Tony Pearson Chair Director since May 2019
Sophie MacIntosh Director Director since August 2019
Julian McPherson Director Director since August 2019
John Rosewarne Director Director since June 2011
Ian Carter AM Director Director since April 2014
Nick Mazzarella Director Director since February 2016
Carole Molyneux Director Director since September 2013
Sean O'Brien Director Director since June 2018

Tony was appointed to the White Ribbon Board on May 1, 2019, and as Chair on June 28, 2019.

Tony is an experienced international executive and company director, having worked and lived in Hong Kong, China, Mongolia, The Philippines and Canada, in addition to Australia. He is currently a director of ASX listed Peak Resources and Cellnet, as well as a Commissioner at the Independent Planning Commission and a Trustee at the Royal Botanic Garden and Domain Trust. Tony was previously a non-executive director of ASX listed Aspire Mining and the International Grammar School. Prior to this, Tony was a Managing Director at HSBC and a group executive at Toronto and Hong Kong listed SouthGobi Resources.

Tony is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, holds a B.Comm. (with merit) from the University of New South Wales, and has been a White Ribbon Ambassador since 2016.

Sophie is an experienced legal and governance professional with over 20 years’ experience working across top tier global law firms Ashurst and DLA Piper, and global corporates. Sophie is currently the Chief Legal Officer and Company Secretary of Smartgroup Corporation, an ASX200 company, which provides salary packaging, fleet management and other employee management services for organisations across Australia, with a particular focus on the Not for Profit sector.

Sophie holds a Masters in Law from the University of Sydney, and a  Bachelors of Law (Honours) and Bachelor of Business (Finance) from The University of Technology, Sydney, and is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Julian is an experienced finance and accounting professional. He is currently Partner in Charge of KPMG’s Audit and Assurance practice in Sydney. Julian has worked for KPMG for over 22 years in the UK, US and Australia. His experience with KPMG has covered a broad range of clients including leading the audits of a number of ASX100 companies.

Julian is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and a Registered Company Auditor.

John has served the Board of White Ribbon Australia since June 2011. He has held both Treasurer and Chair positions during his tenure.

John has extensive experience at senior levels in the financial services industry, specialising in operations, human resource management and change management.  During his time in the industry, John was heavily involved with two major Bank mergers and spent time on secondment as the Banking Advisor to the Australian Banking Industry Ombudsman (now the Financial Ombudsman Service).  After retiring from the finance industry in 2004, John and his partner established a consulting company, of which he continues to be Director and Company Secretary.  He holds several tertiary qualifications covering finance, superannuation and management, including a Master of Business (Banking).

John is a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australia.

Ian Carter has served as the CEO of Anglicare WA since 1995. Anglicare WA is the largest provider of DV services in WA concerning victims and perpetrators and children affected by it, as well running a Women’s Refuge and early intervention services.

Ian’s career in community service, particularly in community capacity building and social justice, has been extensive and prolific. He has been involved in both creating and governing a wide range of community organisations at local, national and international levels.

Ian was a member of the Prime Minister’s Council on Homelessness and the WA Ministerial Roundtable on Affordable Housing. He is a member of the WA State Government’s Partnership Forum, a coalition between leaders in the State Government and not-for-profit organisations.   In 2009 he was appointed as the Chairperson of the WA State Government’s Social Housing Taskforce. He is a Founding Board Member and current Chairman of Foyer Foundation, Deputy Chairman of the Board of Anglicare Australia and on the Board of White Ribbon Australia.

Ian has held the positions of Deputy President of the ACOSS, President of WACOSS, President of Family Services Australia, Chairman of the State Taskforce on Poverty, Chairman of the Ministerial Housing Advisory Committee, Chairman of the Anti Poverty Week Steering Committee in WA and was a founding Director on the Boards of JOBfutures, Leadership WA and the WA Community Foundation.

He was inducted into the General Division of the Order of Australia in 2009.

Nick is manager of the City of Whittlesea’s Major Projects department. He has a wealth of experience in both Local and State Government. He is currently responsible for overseeing the capital New Works Program and is a member of the Institute of Public Works Engineering Australia (IPWEA).

Nick is a White Ribbon Ambassador. He was one of 14 men who attended a white ribbon breakfast at Darebin Council back in 2007. Following this breakfast he helped to establish the Darebin White Ribbon Action Team, which continues to this day.

Born and educated in London, Carole graduated in 1969 with an Honours degree in Psychology from the University of Liverpool UK. She migrated to Australia in 1971 and has occupied a number of senior roles in the retail industry including General Manager of Grace Bros Sydney City store and 18 years as CEO of specialty fashion chain Suzanne Grae. In June 2013, Carole started CMR Consulting, which specialises in helping a Company use its unique ‘DNA’ to develop effective business strategies.

Carole is a past Member of the National Council of the Australian Retailer’s Association (ARA), past Board Member of Racing NSW, past Non-Executive Director of Bantex Australia P/L, Paraquad NSW and Webster Holdings.  She is a currently a Non-Executive Director of Nick Scali Furniture in addition to White Ribbon Australia.

Carole is also a Director and Member of the Zonta Club of Sydney.  Zonta International is a global organisation of professionals empowering women worldwide through service and advocacy with a particular focus on violence prevention.

Under Carole’s stewardship, Suzanne Grae formed a strong and highly successful community partnership with White Ribbon in 2007, which lasted for nine years.  As an employer of a largely female workforce over many years, Carole has first-hand experience of the impact of domestic violence in the workplace.

Sean has over 30 years’ experience in the media industry. Since 2013 he’s held the position of  Managing Director Adelaide for the Nine Entertainment Company. Previous to this he was the General Manager of two radio stations – Nova 919 and talk station FIVEaa for the DMG Group.

With previous board experience at Channel 9 Telethon and Down Syndrome South Australia, Sean currently sits on the White Ribbon South Australia State Committee and is a proud White Ribbon Ambassador.

Sean joined the board of White Ribbon Australia on 1 June 2018.

Subscribe to our newsletter